I Wrote Comedic Songs About Vaginas 10 Years Too Early

Here’s What I Learned From Being An Early Bloomer

Jessica Delfino
8 min readJan 11, 2019

--

Let your minds wander back to a brisk October evening in 2005/2006. What were you doing? Getting out of work? On your way to the gym? Not yet born? I was schlepping my guitar in a big heavy case by it’s clumsy handle, because I hadn’t gotten wind of the convenience of soft backpack guitar cases yet, over to an ambitious, young film maker’s house to record a video for a song I’d written called, My Pussy Is Magic”.

Here is a press photo from 2008, taken in an L.E.S. cafe that has long since closed.

It wasn’t the first vagina comedy song I’d ever written, but it was the one that got the most attention.

When I moved to New York City after graduating art school to start comedy in 2001, I was doing stand-up like all the other young, hungry acts of the time, hoping to get seen on one of the city’s many grungy stages by the industry reps who were rumored to lurk around the windowless clubs to try to catch the next big this or that. My plan, like any hopeful, starry-eyed young comedian, was, that I’d get plucked out of the five scantly, if at all paid comedy sets a night hustle and dropped onto a sound stage with a vast audience of happy pretty people who were paid just to be there and laugh at the jokes in my very own sitcom.

--

--

Jessica Delfino

I write about life with 1 husband, 2 kids, 1 cat, sometimes funny. Instagram.com/JessicaDelfino Bylines: TheNew Yorker, The NY Times, The Atlantic, McSweeney’s.